Thank you to those who attended the Texas Transplantation Society 
28th Annual Scientific Meeting!


Likely the largest Texas Transplantation Society Annual Meeting was just held in Austin, Texas at the Hyatt Regency Hotel. Transplant professionals will never forget where they were when they heard the iconic, brilliant and world renowned Sir Roy York Calne speak in Texas. You could hear a pin drop. He spoke for an hour and it flew by as if it was 5 minutes. His presence gave the proper heft to givign the inaugural Goran Klintmalm lectureship. Everyone from this meeting will have their own stories and their own perspective, but suffice it to say, having heard spontaneously from nearly every attendee, their remarks reflected the energy and vibrancy of the meeting, both from a scientific aspect and public policy and leadership development aspect.


Read more from our 2015 TTS Annual Meeting - Final Report

Please click on the link to view the presentations from the 28th Anniversary Texas Transplantation Society Meeting:
Log in to view the 2015 Presentations

Photos from the 2015 TTS Annual Meeting

2015 Keynote Speakers

Special thanks to Sir Roy Calne who presented the Goran Klintmalm Lecture (pictured above together).
Also huge thanks to Laura Siminoff, PhD, who presented the Paul Peters Lecture (pictured below with TTS President-Elect and Program Chair Teresa Shafer).Dr. Siminoff also spoke at the Friday morning Women in Transplant Breakfast.

New TTS Officers

We would like to thank outgoing Executive Committee members Victor Machicao, Stephen Almond, Steve Bynon, Ramachandra Sista, and Joe Nespral for their time and service on the board. Serving a three-year term is a significant commitment and we appreciate these members for serving faithfully. Special thanks to Dr. Steve Potter, who now moves to the Immediate Past President position. Dr. Potter is pictured above on the left receiving his commemorative TTS clock from Teresa Shafer.

TTS Welcomes the 2015-16 Executive Committee:
President - Teresa Shafer, RN, MSN, CPTC 
President-Elect & 2016 Program Chair - Matthias Peltz, MD
Secretary-Treasurer - David Mason, MD
Immediate Past President - Steve Potter, MD, FACS

New Councilors (Three-year terms) include:
Heart - Gonzalo Gonzalez-Stawinski, MD
Liver - Francisco Cigarroa, MD
Lungs - Ernestina Melicoff-Portillo, MD
Organ Procurement - Tasha Horton, RN, BSN, CPTC


TTS congratulates Dr. Ana Islam for her second year winning the Trinkle-Banowsky Abstract Competition. Dr. Islam is a research fellow at the J.C. Walter Jr. Transplant Center at The Methodist Hospital in Houston, Texas. Her abstract was titled, "Long-term Renal Transplant Outcomes Utilizing DCD Grafts". The abstracts were voted on by the 2015 Program Committee.

TTS also congratulates Dr. Hoang-Kim Le (pictured below) for winning the 2015 Case Presentation Competition. Dr. Le is currently a third-year resident in Urology at Baylor Scott & White Health in Temple, Texas. Her case presentation was titled, "Novel Use of En Bloc Horseshoe Kidney Transplantation in a Simultaneous Kidney-Pancreas Recipient". The case presentations were voted on 
by the attendees Saturday afternoon.

Special Thanks

TTS would like to thank our exhibitors and sponsors who we have had multiple communications with throughout the year. They are truly partners in helping us structure the resources to be able to do what we did with this meeting.

TTS gratefully acknowledges its Premium Exhibitors:

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company
Methodist Transplant Physicians: The Liver Institute at Methodist Dallas Medical Center
Veloxis Pharmaceuticals

Astellas Pharma US, Inc.
Avita Pharmacy Solutions
Baylor Annette C. & Harold C. Simmons Transplant Institute
Cytonet LLC
One Lambda, Inc.
Organ Recovery Systems
Transplant Connect
Walgreens Specialty Pharmacy

TTS gratefully acknowledges its Gala Dinner Sponsors:

Astellas Pharma US, Inc.
Baylor Annette C. & Harold C. Simmons Transplant Institute

Bristol-Myers Squibb

Houston Methodist Hospital with Brivic Media

TTS gratefully acknowledges its Annual Meeting Sponsors:

Houston Methodist Hospital
Southwest Transplant Alliance

Million Air
Texas Organ Sharing Alliance

TTS gratefully acknowledges all of its Exhibitors:

Alexion Pharmaceuticals
Amber Pharmacy
Astellas Pharma US, Inc.
Avita Pharmacy Solutions
Baylor Annette C. and Harold C. Simmons Transplant Institute, Dallas
Baylor St. Luke's Medical Center, Houston
Bridge to Life, Ltd.
Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.
Cytonet LLC
Essential Pharmaceuticals
Haemonetics Corporation
Houston Methodist JC Walter Jr. Transplant Center
Immucor, Inc.
Linkage Biosciences, Inc.
Methodist Transplant Physicians - The Liver Institute at Methodist Dallas 
Novartis Pharmaceutical
Octapharma USA
One Lambda, Inc.
Organ Recovery Systems
PMO Pharmacy
Promega Corporation
Transplant Connect
UT Southwestern William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital, Dallas
Veloxis Pharmaceuticals
Walgreens Specialty Pharmacy

Thank you to the 2015 Program Committee for helping 
this meeting to be one of the best!

Our thanks to Teresa Shafer- Chair, Dr. Debra Doherty, Donna Esposito, Dr. Shelley Hall, Tasha Horton, Justin Johnson, Jeffrey Orlowski, Dr. George Rofaiel, Dr. Jerome Saltarrelli-HLA program Chair, Betsy Stein, Dr. Neema Stephens and Dr. Miguel Vazquez.


View photos from the 2015 TTS Annual Meeting