Thank you to those who attended the Texas Transplantation Society 
27th Annual Scientific Meeting!


The Texas Transplantation Society's Annual Scientific Meeting brings together transplant physicians, surgeons, scientists, nurses, procurement staff, HLA directors and staff, social workers, administrators and more. Regarded as a favorite conference in Texas, this meeting provides you with the tools, technologies, and best practices you need to provide better care of your patients and stay up-to-date in your field.

Please click on the link to view the presentations from the 27th Anniversary Texas Transplantation Society Meeting:
Log in to view the 2014 Presentations


2014 Keynote Speakers

Special thanks to Adam Bingaman, MD, who presented the Paul Peters Lecture, (pictured above on the right with Dr. Steve Potter) and also to Doris Taylor, PhD, FAHA, FACC, who presented the Ernie Hodge Lecture (pictured below with Dr. Geof Land). 

Dr. Taylor also spoke at the Friday morning Women in Transplant Breakfast - a first for TTS, that was met with great enthusiasm. Thanks, Dr. Taylor, and thank you to Dr. Afzal Nikaein for making this happen!

New TTS Officers

We would like to thank outgoing Executive Committee Members Geof Land, Chandra Kunavarapu, Pradeep Kadambi, Jerome Saltarrelli and Patti Niles for their time and service on the board. Serving a 3-year term is a significant commitment and we appreciate these members for serving faithfully. Also, special thanks to Dr. Stephen Almond, who now moves to the immediate past president position. Dr. Steve Potter (above on the left) is pictured here with outgoing president, Dr. Stephen Almond, receiving his commemorative TTS clock.

TTS Welcomes the 2014-15 Executive Committee:
President - Steve Potter, MD, FACS
President-Elect & 2015 Program Chair - Teresa Shafer, RN, MSN, CPTC
Secretary-Treasurer - Victor Machicao, MD
Immediate Past President - Stephen Almond, MD 

New Councilors (Three-year terms) include:
Bone Marrow - Kai Cao, MS, MD, D(ABHI)
Heart, Non-surgeon - Shelley Hall, MD
Pancreas, Surgeon - Jacquie Lappin, MD, FACS, FRCSI
Allied Health Member - Eva McKissick, MBA
Histocompatiblity - Ron Kerman, PhD
Transplant Administrator - Jaymee Mayo, RN 


TTS congratulates Dr. Ana Islam, pictured above with Dr. Geof Land, for winning the 2014 Trinkle-Banowsky Abstract Competition. Dr. Islam is a general surgery resident at Houston Methodist in Houston, TX. Her abstract was titled, "Identification of independent risk factors for de novo DSA development through prospective monitoring." The abstracts were voted on by the 2014 program committee.



TTS also congratulates Dr. Ishmeet Walia, pictured above, for winning the 2014 Case Presentation Competition. Dr. Walia is a Nephrology Fellow at UTMB in Galveston, TX. Her case presentation was titled, "Diagnosing granulomatous interstitial nephritis in renal allograft biopsies: Is it possible?" The case presentations were voted on by the attendees Saturday afternoon.





Special Thanks


Thanks to DonateLifeTexas for sponsoring the Friday morning coffee break! Pictured above are (left) Pat Giordano, CEO of TOSA, Patricia Niles, President and CEO of Southwest Transplant Alliance, and Jeff Orlowski, CEO of LifeShare Oklahoma. (Kevin Myer, CEO of LifeGift was unable to attend due to Houston being the host city for the Transplant Games.)

Thank you to all of the Exhibitors who make it possible for TTS to have the
27th Anniversary meeting:

Silver Exhibitors:
Genentech, A Member of the Roche Group
Roche Diagnostics 

Bronze Exhibitors:
Astellas Pharma US, Inc.
Avita Pharmacy 
One Lambda, part of Thermo Fisher Scientific
Veloxis Pharmaceuticals
(Veloxis also provided support for the flash drives)


Abbott Molecular
Baylor Scott & White

Bristol Myers Squibb Company
Bridge to Life, Ltd.
Cadence Pharmaceuticals
CHI St. Luke's Health - Baylor St. Luke's Cooley Transplant Center 
Essential Pharmaceuticals
Guidry & East, LLC 

Houston Methodist JC Walter Jr. Transplant Center

Octapharma USA, Inc.
Onyx Pharmaceuticals Inc. 
Organ Recovery Systems
Promega Corporation
Terumo BCT 


Thank you to the 2014 Program Committee 
for helping this meeting to be a great success!

Dr. Steve Potter, Chair, Dr. Stephen Almond, Dr. Kai Cao, Dr. Daniel DeArmond, Phillip Erice, Dr. Chandra Kunavarapu, Anita Lopez-Saldana, Dr. Dan Meyer, Eva McKissick, Jennifer Milton, Dr. Jacqueline O'Leary and Dr. Jerome Saltarrelli, Chair of the HLA program


More photos from the San Antonio meeting:




See more photos from our 2014 TTS Meeting on our Facebook page