2013 Meeting Highlights


Please click on the link to view the presentations from the 26th Anniversary Texas Transplantation Society meeting:
Log in to view the 2013 Presentations

2013 Keynote Speakers

Special thanks to Kathryn Tinckam, MD, pictured on the left above with Dr. Stephen Almond. Dr. Tinckam presented the Paul Peters Lecture.

Special thanks to Steve Woodle, MD, pictured above with Dr. Stephen Almond. Dr. Woodle presented the Ernest Hodge, MD, Lecture.


2013 Trinkle-Banowsky Abstract/Case Presentation Winner

Congratulations to Dr. Sarah Brant (pictured above with Dr. Stephen Almond) for winning the Trinkle-Banowsky Abstract and Case Presentation Competition Award. Dr. Brant is a postdoctoral research fellow at UT Southwestern Medical Center, Department of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery, Dallas, Texas. Her winning abstract was titled, "Characterizing the Agonal Phase of the Non-Heart Beating Donor in Canines - Implications for Utilization of DCD Hearts for Transplantation". The abstracts and case presentations were combined and voted on by the attendees on Saturday afternoon.


New TTS Officers

Receiving his commemorative TTS clock, outgoing president Dr. Geof Land 
(on the left) is pictured here with Laurie Reece and incoming president, 
Dr. Stephen Almond.

TTS would like to thank Dr. Larry Melton, Dr. Estil Vance, Dr. Mohanram Narayanan, Dr. Dan Meyer and Dr. Kanae Ishihara, for their time and service on the TTS Executive Committee. We understand and appreciate your time commitment and for serving faithfully.

TTS welcomes the members elected for the 2013/14 Executive Committee:
Stephen Almond, MD - President
Steve Potter, MD - President Elect and 2014 Program Chair
Victor Machicao, MD - Secretary/Treasurer
Geof Land, PhD - 2012-13 Immediate Past President


Recognizing our OPO Leadership

On Saturday, Dr. Kris Gugliuzza presented Jim Cutler with a commemorative TTS clock. Jim was recognized for his "generous commitment of time, support, and inspiration in advancing organ donation and transplantation in Texas." He retired this year as president and CEO of Southwest Transplant Alliance, but continues another year as Emeritus CEO/president of STA. Jim has been a TTS member since 1997 and he will be greatly missed!


TTS was pleased to have OPO CEO's Patti Niles of Southwest Transplant Alliance and Kevin Myer of LifeGift, at this year's meeting in Irving -pictured above with Laurie Reece, Executive Director.


Special Thanks


Thank you to all of the Supporters and Exhibitors who made it possible for TTS to have our 26th Anniversary meeting:

Grant Support:
Gilead Sciences, Inc.
Salix Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 

Silver Exhibitors:
Bridge to Life

Bronze Exhibitors:
Cadence Pharmaceuticals
Methodist J.C. Walter Jr. Transplant Center
Novartis Pharmaceuticals
One Lambda, part of Thermo Fisher Scientific
St. Luke's Cooley Transplant Center (Ashley Williamson pictured above)


Astellas Pharma US, Inc.

Avita Pharmacy
Biologic Tx

Bristol-Myers Squibb
Coram Specialty Infusion Services
Essential Pharmaceuticals

National Foundation for Transplants
Organ Recovery Systems
PMO Pharmacy



Walgreens Pharmacy


Thank you to the TTS Program Committee members who helped make the 26th Anniversary meeting a great success!
The 2013 Program Committee includes:
Stephen Almond, MD - Chair, J. Steve Bynon, MD, Tae Chong, MD, Shannon Cook, RN, Todd Eagar, PhD, Norma Flores, RN, CCTC, Lesley Kresie, MD, D(ABHI), FCAP, Geof Land, PhD, Jaymee Mayo, RN, Victor Mulanovich, MD, Fernando Raudales, MD, Ramachandra Sista, MD, Giuliano Testa, MD, FACS, MBA, and Cheryl Ellis Vaiani, PhD.


More Meeting Photos